Suggestions on RX for a Mitsubishi Montero?

Status
Not open for further replies.
We pick up a bargain 1998 Pajero GLS (Montero) tomorrow for the wife, a replacement for our stolen Mazda 626. I'm open to ways and means posters would like to see the last few bottles of my case of RX utilised? 158,000kms (98,000 miles) with LSD, Super Select auto, 3.5 V6 engine, p/s. Wife is definitely not happy it's a slushie, but has agreed to trial it. If it doesn't work out we'll trade it for a manual Pajero or Toyota Prado, but fingers crossed. Will get compression readings posted ASAP as a starting point.

Under the valve-cover pics before & after would be a plus and those covers come off easy and you won't have to replace the silicone gasket to reseal it. (I have lots of experience with these engines) so there is no excuse not to and put this whole ARX thing to rest.

What do you say?

Not interested what it looks like under the valve cover, same as our sadly departed Mazda and my BMW. Diff, transfer case maybe, auto definitely (can't Believe we purchased a slushie), and p/s will all get some RX but qty's unknown. oil viscosity/brand unknown but will see what the owners manual says.

What about if I buy you a brand new gasket for the valve cover would you take pictures for the group here on BITOG then?

I will mail it to Australia!

If there are leaking valve cover gaskets at inspection next week which require replacing, I'll take photos if the workshop allows access. I have to say this obsession with pictures is starting to freak me out a bit, I would have thought quantifiable data eg compression readings would have been of far more interest to techo types that reside at BITOG? And try googling auto-Rx, you will find a myriad web sites and satisfied users all over the world, have you tried that?

smirk2.gif

Originally Posted By: sprintman
After 9+ years testing HDEO won't come close. Now keep of my threads and I'll keep off yours.
Then prove it to us with pictures!