Oil Recommendation for Subaru WRX STI (EJ207)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey Everyone,

Great forum you've got here. I've just registered as I'm trying to decide what oil to run in my freshly swapped car. I'm just about finished my swap. Its a V7 2.0L STI Motor (EJ207). When I received the front clip and pulled the motor, I drained it and the oil was definitely very sludge-like but Im not an expert in oil by any means so it could have been that it was just because it was sitting in a yard for a couple of years.

I've read the "What oil should I use sticky" so here goes:

1. What kind of vehicle you have
As I said, its a Subaru Impreza WRX STI from Japan. Turbocharged, revs to 8250. I will be running a full turbo-back 3" exhaust and an electronic boost control solenoid.

2. What your owner's manual says -- not just viscosity, but certifications (look for acronyms like API SM, ILSAC GF-4, etc.) and change intervals as well
The service manual says to use 4.5L of 5w30 and to make sure it has API classification.

3. Where you live
I live in Alberta, Canada. The weather can go from -50*C in the winter to about +35*C in the summer but can be quite variable day to day.

4. How you drive (easy? hard? fast? slow?)
I would say that I dont bag on the motor but I have been known to drive hard and fast. The car will see the odd track and autocross day and while I have no problem changing the fluids before and after those, I dont really want to be switching to a different fluid just for a track day.

5. What your daily drive is like (short trips? long trips? city? highway?)
My daily drive is quite short and the majority of my drives will be less than 15-20mins.

6. Whether your car has any known problems
No known problems right now, but that's because I haven't started it up yet.

As far as preferences, I prefer synthetic and would like it to be available locally. I'm good at changing the oil very regularly at whatever interval is required so there's no issue there.