Oil Change hot or cold?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: momomeister
That didn't get them too far...

i know but i have to cling to all the positives i can find
09.gif

Originally Posted By: Pop_Rivit
I've probably been driving longer that you've been alive.

I've been using M1 for only 23 years,and don't remember what i used waaay before that.
whistle.gif

PM me your address?

What do you guys think about this?

I always have some left over oil from previous changes. So once it's done dripping, i will pour about half a quart of new/leftover oil down to get more old out until it looks new draining out.

Oh and I do it warm. I do like the theory of letting it sit all night to drain down... curious if it really might be more effective. I've read before that many mechanics have been needlessly burned from warming cars 1st.

I just did the CRX this weekend. Drove it on the highway...hot and stirred. Let it drain out of the engine while I was getting out the jack, positioning the jackstands, and pinching my finger in one 'till it gushed blood. Drained in the pan until it started to drip. Then brought it down and refilled.

Hot oil changes are SO much more exciting than oozy cold oil.

Always hot usually drive to a Honda dealer to buy a 25 cent washer. Drive to get coofee ater that drive up the ramp sand drain it.

Hot.

- as many contaminant in solution as possible
- oil flows out of the drain faster
- oil flows down from the cams faster (for those with OHC)
- engine's obviously already at proper running temp for pulling up on ramps, otherwise you need to wait forever for cold oil to drain back down to the sump and you're adding cold starts to the routine

Of course "Hot" doesn't mean scalding, kill yourself, dangerous.

All of the cars I'm currently changing oil on are top-accessed cartridge filters and wearing latex or nitrile gloves I can safely handle the filters and some oil splash without getting burned.