Castrol Syntec 5W-30

Status
Not open for further replies.
You're right.
The SAE grade on the bottle serves to confuse more than anything else. For example why is the first number smaller than the second on so-called multi-grade oils? All oils get thinner with increased temperature, so logic dictates the second number should be smaller.
A 5W-30 IMO in kinematic speak should read something like 500W-10 then everyone would get better picture of what actually happens with motor oil and temperature.

Thanks caterham,the last thing I want to portray is that I`m an idiot.But,some of this stuff you guy`s talk about on here I am just learning.

Other than the advertising, I have used it and think its great.

I remember seeing reports of it producing low wear numbers, BUT Ive heard numerous times, that it isnt the best for largely extended drain intervals. I wouldnt run it past 6K without a UOA.

The other issue I see, is like others have said, it is expensive. Although, here in canada, its staying more consistent in price, where as M1 is still climbing.

Syntec is on sale this week at CT....$24.98 for a 4.4 liter jug. Good deal.

And CATERHAM, yes, I agree entrirely there is VERY little difference between 5W-30 and 5W-20 Syntec...

Originally Posted By: sprintman
I see people using this in their BMW engines and wondering why they have sludge.

Syntec 5/30???