A comparison of Mobil 1 and Amsoil EaO oil Filters

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello everyone,

I've been performing an experiment for the past 15 months with my 2006 Toyota Tundra Limited Double Cab 4WD. I have performed 5 UOAs, all with particle counts. For the first two UOAs, a Mobil 1 M1-209 filter was utilized. For the third and fourth UOA, an Amsoil EaO-34 filter was utilized. Finally, for the fifth and most recent UOA, I went back to using a Mobil 1 M1-209 filter. The reason for the back and forth is to determine if the results were skewed by some other trend in the wear patterns of the engine. In all cases, the oil used was Mobil 1 EP 5W-30, purchased from the same source (Wal-Mart). The Mobil 1 filters were also purchased from Wal-Mart, and the Amsoil filters came via mail order from the Amsoil warehouse in Richmond, VA.

For the duration of this test, all 15 months of it, I tried to keep as many variables as I could constant, keeping in mind this truck is in service - i.e., these results were not done in a lab! Here is a list of items I tried to hold constant:

1) The brand and grade of gas used was the same, almost always purchased from the same gas station (Shell 89 Octane). There were a couple of tankfulls here and there that were other brands or were purchased from other sources, due to out of town travel. No additives were used, either in the fuel or engine oil.

2) The driver was the same, and for the most part, driven in the same routine service throughout the test.

3) No other engine work of any kind was performed for the duration of this test - No air filter changes - In fact, other than refilling the windshield washer fluid, and changing the oil/filter (after the sample was taken), I did not even inspect anything that required any reservoir to be opened.