Who wants to see ugly? AKA. Worst staking I've ever seen?

I bought my ruger sfar "ready to go" Ran about 150 rounds of 150grain 308 and 147grain m80 through it.
Did my first full tear down and clean as it developed an odd ejection pattern and gouge on the "casing base" when ejecting.

This is my first "AR" style rifle. not afraid to say I am very new to this type of rifle.
I have cleaned a few classics, bolt actions, and .22 semi's previously.

Ready for cleaning -- not a fan of the cheap bipod I'll probably remove it or switch it out.
1713735147886.jpg

Worlds worst staking job? Top of the Bolt Carrier. I ripped my glove and shredded a rag its so sharp..
1713735300800.jpg

I cant confirm it yet but it looks like a piece of the black anodizing flaked off and was stuck under the ejector.. so that was probably the issue I was having. Also was intensely carboned up at the back of the bolt for 150 rounds.
Brass brush and solvent didn't do much... ended up picking it with a stainless pick for 10min.
Might grab some stronger solvent too. All I had was CLP, some oil, and grease.
Maybe a stainless brush they say its ok to use on the bolt.

Any suggestions?

I bought my ruger sfar "ready to go" Ran about 150 rounds of 150grain 308 and 147grain m80 through it.
Did my first full tear down and clean as it developed an odd ejection pattern and gouge on the "casing base" when ejecting.

This is my first "AR" style rifle. not afraid to say I am very new to this type of rifle.
I have cleaned a few classics, bolt actions, and .22 semi's previously.

Any suggestions?
Completely deburr the entire BCG. Nothing too aggressive, get it ready to polish. Then polish all moving parts so they slide/move in your hand smoothly and easily. I do this to all my AR style rifles. Your new rifle will run flawlessly, even when filthy dirty.

EDIT: Why is there only one screw?

Last edited: