Volkswagen (Aisin) Trans Fluid

Hey everyone! First post on this account, I was a longtime member here a long time ago, however that account seems to have been lost and not recoverable. Anyway, even though I'm very well versed in oil, trans fluid is a different story. I hhave a 2015 VW Jetta with the 1.8T and Aisin 09G transmission. I did ask this question in a VW group, however all I got was the standard 'Use OEM fluid. Normally I would, however with this being an Aisin trans, I feel that my options are a little more open. First off, what specifically should I look for as far as a spec for the fluid? Between what Aisin says and what VW says, im confused. Secondly, what would you suggest? I've used Amsoil ATF in the past, however I have no knowledge of what route to go. Thank you!

Use the OEM fluid. These can have valve body issues. It is best to use the OEM VW fluid. We had a drain and fill done on ours twice between 40K-50K. I would recommend doing it sooner.

Welcome back!

Aisin/Toyota transmissions usually aren't picky. You can use Maxlife with no problem :)

If you like Amsoil, there is certainly nothing wrong with it!

Later model 09G transmissions are rumored to use a JWS3324 fluid which is a Toyota WS equivalent. I used Idemitsu Type TLS-LV on the last two 09G's I serviced.

I used Pennzoil Platinum LV which lists JWS3324 as The Critic mentioned above. The next transmission service on my 12' Golf I'll use Idemitsu fluid. (Be sure to drop the pan, change the strainer and clean the magnets as well.)

I have an Asin auto trans in my Fiat. I changed the lifetime fluid to Valvoline MaxLife per their chart.