Michelin XLT/AS vs Defender LTX MS?

I'm looking at XLT/AS and the Defender LTX MS for my '02 4Runner. 95% Highway.

I like the looks of the tread on the Defender but wanted your opinion of someone who has actual experience with them.

I've had no experience with XLT/AS, but I've used the Defender LTX MS on my Tundra. They are really good tires, and I find both the dry and wet traction to be very good.

I'm looking at XLT/AS and the Defender LTX MS for my '02 4Runner. 95% Highway.

I like the looks of the tread on the Defender but wanted your opinion of someone who has actual experience with them.

I had a set of Michelin LTX tires on a pickup, and I'll never buy Michelin again. Worst tires ever.

$800 wasted. Zero wet traction and zero snow/ice traction.
So are you saying you literately get no traction whatsoever on wet pavement with Michelin Defender LTX MS tires? That's an amazing statement. They are rated at 95% vs best in the category with over 11 million miles reported on Tire Rack.

I have a set on my Colorado and they are amazing. The sipes run the entire depth of the tread and for me the traction is the best I've experienced from any tire.

I did come across this on the web for what it's worth.

I called Michelin Customer Service (866-866-6605) and was told
Michelin XLT Defender M/S =Costco Michelin X LT A/S
They are the same tire, just different marketing since the A/S is a club only tire...

Even the Michelin site lists it as a "club" tire, what ever that means.

MICHELIN®
X® LT A/S

This tire is currently unavailable for sale online. Please visit your closest dealer to purchase this tire.

• Ultimate Treadlife
  • All-Season Safety
  • Eco-friendly
  • Club Exclusive
  • Mileage warranty: 70,000 miles. See warranty for details.
  • Standard Limited Warranty: 6 years

I decided to call Michelin and they said it was essentially the same tire. XLT/AS is just made for Sam’s, Costco, BJ’s etc.

I’ll stick with the Defender.