Interview Attire for Automotive Tech

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm exploring my options and have pretty quickly lined up interviews for different neighboring county government auto tech positions and was wondering how to dress. I've been a tech since 2003 but my first job was basically given to me due to my success in high school automotive courses...the sponsoring dealer took me on immediately. I got a job in a small shop for a bit which I seem to remember I wore khakis and a polo to, and my current job which I didn't interview for at all. I went to a test center and upon passing an online exam, I was brought in for a real hands on exam which they specifically told me I should not dress up for as I was getting dirty and I passed the written test so well that I didn't need to impress as long as I could show I know how to actually work on a truck.

Fast forward to now, my benefits here aren't as great as I assumed they would be. County jobs seem to offer better benefits so I'm exploring that route and interviewing.

I thought I'd be fine in khakis and a polo but the wife thinks a suit is more proper.

The job does start significantly lower than I could take as a salary but they told me there is flexibility. Figured it's worth the interview. That makes her figure I should dress up in a suit, though.

Opinions welcomed.

Like you're taking your wife out for dinner and a movie. Can't go wrong

Last edited:
I think a suit is overkill. For a manual labor type job, I wouldn't be put off by an applicant who dresses "nice" but a jacket, tie, etc aren't necessary to me. If someone showed up in nice, dress pants and a polo or button-down, that's okay. For a more office-oriented or similar job, I still don't think a suit is necessary but a dress shirt and tie would be okay.

Perhaps khakis, an nice shirt and a sport jacket without tie. I was raised to always be slightly overdressed but never show up under dressed.