How much work is it to teach new shooters?

measureman said above,
"At 18 and joined the Marine corps.....Not that hard with intense training."

True but there are some things some people (not all) will not get ever.
Driving comes to mind. Some people will never fathom momentum nor develop depth perception.

An innate sense of balance (say when placing a jack under a load) is another. Their skull drive didn't come with a "3-D card".

An artist friend of mine said, "It's the ability to see around things". This is possibly not 100% applicable to shooting but you get the idea.

Like Reply

Thanks to all of the responses. My main concern and dilemma is that i don't see them as long term gun folks. i see them as a one time is done folks as in one time to the range and they think they can learn it all . being and staying proficient in firearms requires constant training , something which i don't see them doing. my interest in firearms started almost 40 years ago , and i am still learning to this day.

i think i will take the advice and send them to get basic firearms instruction from a third party. This way they will have to take the initative on their to learn . once done I can take them if they desire further assistance .

owning firearms are a dilemma to me. many times, after seeing some folks at the range, wish there was a requirement for training to buy one. But as a supporter of the second amendment i want as few roadblocks to legal gun ownership as possible.

Thanks to all of the responses. My main concern and dilemma is that i don't see them as long term gun folks. i see them as a one time is done folks as in one time to the range and they think they can learn it all . being and staying proficient in firearms requires constant training , something which i don't see them doing. my interest in firearms started almost 40 years ago , and i am still learning to this day.