Driving addiction, hard to cure

I've been driving for 6 years now and i just can't control it. I HAVE to drive for whatever reason i can find, even driving other people places rather than letting them drive their own cars sometimes (which poeple seem to appreciate).
I drive 30 to 40k kms each year and i'd say half of it could be avoidable if i committed myself to writing shopping lists and stopped driving people around. I never let anyone drive even on a 10 hour drive. I've only been a passenger a few times when i'm really not interested in driving a specific car or if the person really really wants to drive.
I don't know if there are people like me out there. I don't know how to cure it. I feel like the only thing that could make me drive less would be the price of gas if i couldn't get E85 anymore or maybe having a car i hate like a french soap box. I even enjoyed driving all the clunkers Mercs i owned.

This and hoarding motor oil are my only two addictions.

Last edited:
During lock down it was definitely a curve. Pre-COVID I was driving around 32k/year -- that's about 51k km. Did that for 17 years. After several months I'm not sure anymore. Sometimes I feel a need to get out, but I'm no longer sure that I miss driving that much.

The lockdown was the worst for me. And yes i thought about becoming a truck driver. :D

I don't mind driving, but I don't feel the need to get out there at regular intervals.

I'm more likely to want to drive a vehicle to keep the rust off the rotors and key the vehicle in proper working order.