46PPM lead and 21PPM Copper in S54 BMW

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: Quattro Pete

OP, where is the whole UOA report?

Best question I've seen... Post it up and tell us more about the use, history and such before we can make comments....

Originally Posted By: Travis99LS1
Just a question..is this your first oil analysis? Have you had an inspection 1 or inspection 2 service? If you did they probably added techron to your fuel tank..from what I've seen techron will cause high lead readings. I'm a BMW mechanic and the dealer I work at uses the BMW fuel system cleaner which is rebadged techron. Just a thought...

Yes, my first oil analysis on the car @ 60,000 miles. I have had all required services but NOT at the BMW dealer. No Fuel or oil additives have been used in my car. I am on vacation in the boondocks now and will post the Oil Analysis report next week. Nothing to note but the HIGH Lead/Copper.

Your BMW shop hasn't done MANY Rod Bearing jobs on S54 Engines? They did them for FREE as a recall on M 3s with this motor... We M Coupe and M Roadsters got NADA!

History: Bought in 2002 with 1100 miles on the clock. The original buyers Wife wouldn't fit in the little car so he bought an M5. I drove the next 59,000miles in Houston Tx with no abuse, track days or anything other than normal commuter, week end trip use. TWS 10W-60 every 6000 miles. No cold start issue in Houston and I don't do trips much under 17 miles or so. Rod Bearing replacement is VERY COMMON in this engine. It's just my turn to pay up or trash the motor.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: ammolab
Originally Posted By: Travis99LS1
Just a question..is this your first oil analysis? Have you had an inspection 1 or inspection 2 service? If you did they probably added techron to your fuel tank..from what I've seen techron will cause high lead readings. I'm a BMW mechanic and the dealer I work at uses the BMW fuel system cleaner which is rebadged techron. Just a thought...