Remanufactured OEM Ford Transmission 04 Navigator

Status
Not open for further replies.
Originally Posted By: bdcardinal

As far as the filter thing, if I am wrong, then I got bad info and I am sorry if I ruffled feathers. You do have to remember that people generally don't read the paperwork that comes with the trans that states the add in filter must be replaced with any trans service. All the proper maintainence is outlined in the paperwork that comes with the assembly. When I was an apprentice pulling these trans assemblies in and out the first step was to toss the customer portion of the paperwork on the passenger seat with a note that said "READ THIS" in as big as we could write.

Fair enough. I do agree that many people tends to ignore "special instructions" with their cars, even if emphasized by LARGE PRINT and verbal counseling sessions. I wrenched for a living once, including at Ford dealerships, and know how that works.

But that's a separate issue to the operation of the filter, however, and why I felt compelled to (vigorously) challenge your comments lest they leave people with an incorrect impression of Magnefine or Filtran inline transmission filters... both of which are good products.

To go into more detail on this, I don't have a figure on how much contamination a Magnefine (MF), or similar small filter, will hold before it begins to bypass. I know the standard change interval for a MF is 30K and likely that has a very large safety factor. The guy that designed the Magnefine gave me the impression that you could about double that interval on most cars but I won't speak for the company.