Dirty fuel injector

Status
Not open for further replies.
I don't have any experience with fuel injectors, so I'm a bit puzzled by these results. My neighbor has a 2000 Ford Windstar which is constantly misfiring on cyl #5. We have been going down the diagnostic road for a bit now. I removed the fuel injectors and found this:
Broken-1.jpg

My concern is that this is a symptom, not a disease. The Windstar has EGR points on each cylinder, so maybe the other ports are clogged and this one is getting all the exhaust gas? Or a stuck exhaust valve? Does anyone have experience in knowing what could cause this type of build up?

I'm no FI expert but should fuel injectors have combustion chamber carbon build up on them? That black stuff looks like the same thing you would find on a spark plug.

Last edited:
Most coking occurs during the heat soak after shutdown. Perhaps the injector leaks a bit after shutdown, providing more fuel to carbonize.

This seems like it would be a great chance to test FI cleaners. Although I agree its not fixing the cause. But still would be cool to run something like Regane through it and then rephoto.

As plugged as that injector is, I don't believe anyones FI cleaner will clear it up. Time for replacement and then maybe some good FI cleaner for preventative maintenance.

Originally Posted By: mcrn
This seems like it would be a great chance to test FI cleaners. Although I agree its not fixing the cause. But still would be cool to run something like Regane through it and then rephoto.

This injector is completely plugged. No fuel is getting through it to clean it, as you can see from this close up.
Clogged.jpg

If you put 12 volts to the injector, it should click. When you complete the connection to the battery, there should be a spark. If you pulse it, you can feel it click if you are holding it.

Originally Posted By: andyd