Why does MMO make my engine quieter?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using MMO for a few months now. I can't really tell if I have gained in MPG, maybe 1 or 1/2 mpg, its kind of sporadic given I drive the same HWY route every day (150 miles roundtrip). But one thing I can say is that the engine is definitely quieter, especially in cold weather. I am not going to go as far as saying I have increased pep, because the quieter engine can make you think you have more power--it is very subjective.

Anyway, I have found that at a ratio of 4oz/10 gallons, my engine is noticeably quieter. I have heard people say that it is a top end lube, but there is plenty of oil flowing under my valve cover, so what is it doing to quiet my engine exactly?

Last edited:
Added to gas I believe it increases compression making a tighter ring seal, which in turn gives you a better running engine. A better running engine is quieter than an engine that isn't running well. I also believe top oils in general cut down friction in the cylinder and might deaden sound? Just a guess though. I'm interested in others opinions on the matter.

I notice a big difference using mmo in this winter blend fuel. I dont know if its because this blend is such a dry fuel,or what?

If you are adding to fuel it's possible that the MMO is leaving a lubricating film on the valve seats, where the film acts as a cushion as the valves slam shut. This would cut down on some minor clatter/rattle.

Last edited:
I'm pretty skeptical about these kinds of claims, but if I was going to put something in my gas as a lubricant/additive it would probably be one of the TCW3 oils. I know that Sarge has a large thread about it over on the LS1 forums, and a lot of people are telling stories of less noise and improved mileage....maybe there is something to it
21.gif

And I think it would cost less than using MMO, most of the guys are buying it by the gallon and mixing it 500 or 600 to 1.