Some 5w-30 Oils compared

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oils_compared.JPG

Last edited:
It looks like the Castrol Edge could be used in place of 5w20 without a problem. It's a shame it's overpriced.

Makes the PP look pretty good.

Would like to of had a 5w-30 in Amsoil and Redline.

God, the PP just looks beautiful... although we all know the VOA's could look totally different (minutely) with different samples and our opinion could change with. Although, I'm am and would still be biased towards the PP.

guys, i am not a pro by any means so could somebody explain why PP looks so much better than Syntec based on the results above? Looks like about 5% more Ca in PP but about 50% less Moly. The rest looks pretty similar. Looks to me that maybe syntec is the better one in the group.

Folks here are still in a huff that Syntec was advertising itself as a "true" full synthetic (when in fact it's always been a hydro-cracked GRP III mineral oil).

Don't worry, I got a bunch of jugs in the basement.
thumbsup2.gif

I think it goes to show that oils are formulated differently for various performance standards they are trying to achieve. I think PP loves to clean up the engine.

Originally Posted By: jstutz
guys, i am not a pro by any means so could somebody explain why PP looks so much better than Syntec based on the results above? Looks like about 5% more Ca in PP but about 50% less Moly. The rest looks pretty similar. Looks to me that maybe syntec is the better one in the group.

If you go to the Oil Additives forum, then go in a few pages you will find a moly additives?? thread. I think you will find it a good read and MAYBE why PP uses the Moly add it does.

Originally Posted By: FrankN4

If you go to the Oil Additives forum, then go in a few pages you will find a moly additives?? thread. I think you will find it a good read and MAYBE why PP uses the Moly add it does.