Amsoil 0W-30, 20K mile OCI, 2004 Cn Vic 130K mile

Status
Not open for further replies.
I ran my Amsoil for 20,000 miles but changed the 820S every 5,000 miles. I drive mostly freeway and change my PVC when I change the oil. My CV doesn't use any oil that I can detect, alghough I would preload the new filter prior to installation. I'm new to UOA, but it looks like it made it fine. Blackstone didn't see any problems.

Virgin Oil Analysis:

virgin-amsoil-0w-30-signature-series.jpg

Same oil after 20,000 miles:

20000-mile-oci-amsoil-0w-30-signature-series.jpg

Wow - that's really good! A little high on the Silicon though.

Nice TBN yet.......

How much make-up oil did you add and about when??

That's impressive for the very long interval. Insolubles decently low, TBN still has some life left, flashpoint very high, and just a slight viscosity increase. The fresh oil put in the new oil filters every 5K miles helps. That amounts to how much new oil added?

I precharged the filters when I changed them at 5K mile intervals, but that was it. My 4.6L doesn't really use oil. The silicon is high, but it's high in the virgin oil, and the anti backflow valve in a Motorcraft 820S is silicon rubber. I don't know if that is relevant or not.

After reading posts on this site I switched to the Amsoil air filter and checked all my intake side connections for leaks.

Thanks for the input,

Malcolm

How long did you have the oil the engine? Which oil filter?

I noticed the oil also thickened with use.

The oil paid for itself and more with a 20K OCI.

Last edited: