Help with SAE viscosity numbers.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings

I have been reading much but this is my first time posting. I am discovereing that the more I learn, the less I actually know.

I have been driving for 48 years, I have owned many cars from a first 47 chevrolet to my now 2008 Silverado.

The first oil I can remember was Kendall and I used a straight 40 weight, I never had an oil problem. I then switched to Castrol and I used either a straight 40 or 50 weight. Never an oil problem. I then went to 20W-50 Castrol. Next was 5W-50 Castrol Syntec. I now use Mobil 1 15W-50. I bought a new pickup in 1986. I replaced the factory fill 10W-30 oil the day I bought it with Castrol 20W-50 and now use Mobil 1 15W-50. It will soon pass 300,000 miles, no engine problem of any kind, 26-30 miles per gallon.

I bought a new Chevrolet cavalier in Decembere of 1998. I drove it home from the dealer, replaced the factory fill 5W-30 oil with Mobil 1 15W-50. It went past the 200,000 mile mark last week, never an engine problem of any kind and 28-32 miles per gallon.

I bought a new 2008 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 last Wednesday. Why would I not want to replace the factory fill 5W-30 with Mobil 1 15W-50? This is an honest question, not a statement. Would not the 15W-50 protect much better and give longer engine life as that is all I really care about? Have things really changed in engine design that a 30 weight oil protects as well as a 50 weight?

I am a retired electro mechanical engineer so I understand some of the technical talk.

Thank everyone for the responses.

Last edited: