Financial Advice For 22 Year Old

Status
Not open for further replies.
I graduated college in May and have been working for 6 months. I am being compensated well for my first job out of college and I want to formulate a solid strategy and invest young. Through talking with wealthy and successful people, one tip I keep hearing over and over is to start young.

The only debt I have out of college are student loans, which are not of a substantial amount. I have been researching and studying well known authors of personal finance books, such as Dave Ramsey and Robert Kiyosaki, and have learned a great deal. I have not met with financial advisors in my area, but plan to do so soon.

In the mean time, what advice do you have for a 22 year old professional that is just starting out in terms of investing? Because I am young I feel I can take greater risks and gamble to a certain degree. My risk tolerance is not high, but I believe I can risk more than the average investor.

Simply put, is there any financial advice you wished you received when you were just beginning your career and starting out in your twenties? If so, please post!

Thanks for your time and help!

You're on the right track-my advice to you would be to keep doing what you're doing. Stay out of debt except for a home mortgage (and make it as small as possible). Save like mad, especially your while you're young and let the money grow throughout your lifetime. Learn and practice a lot of self control with your money, and live within your means.

Don't have children until you're financially ready for them-the costs are huge and it's a tremendous burden for someone in their 20's just starting out.

Congratulations on both your college and career successes.

While people will tell you to buy more volatile growth, small cap or international discovery funds, I think you still need to (1) pay down debt (2) stay conservative for awhile.