Should I try Red Line oil?

Status
Not open for further replies.
"... and I have a few specific questions:

Do you think there will be a noticeable cleaning effect?"

After autorx I don't believe it will because autorx is specifically for that purpose and based on all the posts here it performs well (the best?) at it.

"What do you recommend as a first OCI on the stuff?:"

If you want to be conservative, how about 7k with a UOA? I've used 10k in the past consistently on some cars and had very good luck.

"What grade should I run? Owners tend to believe that these cars like a heavier-weight oil, generally. Obviously I don't want to give up one ounce of engine protection. "

I'm no bmw expert (burned out after my last bm which was a needy v12, interesting engine though) but hopefully some of the bmvee guys here will chime in. For reference, Speedy1 used 10W40 redline in his m3. He posted that he liked the reduced noise and it sounds like his car is tracked a lot so that might be one reference point in terms of weight and protection:

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=1041896#Post1041896

Redline is a great oil but you can't beat the protection of the HDEO. 10w/40 Redline will be the viscosity to use .I would also say Redline won't make your engine last any longer ,it has no magical powers.