Pennzoil Q&A

Click here to participate in the Pennzoil Q&A

Recent Topics
Anti-Seize
by artbuc
09/02/15 02:43 AM
I tried 10W60 oil and it didn't do that well
by Popsy
09/02/15 01:16 AM
Looking for a multimeter that reads DC frequency
by Merkava_4
09/02/15 12:28 AM
Anyone have a Samoyed?
by dishdude
09/02/15 12:02 AM
Amsoil's Base Stocks, who supplies them?
by donnyj08
09/01/15 10:55 PM
Thinking of 3 different oils for a 2013 Mazda 6
by mercuryblues
09/01/15 09:22 PM
Make a cheap 4wheeler for kids
by CourierDriver
09/01/15 08:53 PM
Lube to ValveTrain: -35C, 0w-30 vs. 10w-30 cold
by ExMachina
09/01/15 07:18 PM
Brake pads again
by Ndx
09/01/15 07:16 PM
2015 Tacoma Rear Differential, 4K mi., Amsoil SVG
by btanchors
09/01/15 07:11 PM
Fram PH9688 ~6500 miles/6 months
by Xrs2zz
09/01/15 07:09 PM
2015 Tacoma Transfer Case, 4K mi., Amsoil SVG
by btanchors
09/01/15 07:06 PM
Newest Members
VersatileGuy, moirraine, AZDA, muktasir, PgPilot
55228 Registered Users
Who's Online
26 registered (901Memphis, bbhero, chrisri, BigD1, 2 invisible), 478 Guests and 124 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Forum Stats
55228 Members
66 Forums
236797 Topics
3816178 Posts

Max Online: 2862 @ 07/07/14 03:10 PM
Donate to BITOG
Topic Options
#3430284 - 07/20/14 02:38 PM GM Passkey III didn't require programing?
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3697
Loc: Kuwait
So I lost the master key for my Envoy, so I got a new fob and coded key from the dealer. They asked me to come back tomorrow for programming, so I figured I'd do it myself.

I put the new uncoded key in the ignition and turned it on - five seconds later the security light went off. I cranked the engine and it fired right up! I tried the 2nd memory key and it fired right up. Am I missing something here?
_________________________
00 Pajero: M1 0W40/26300-35503
01 Marquis: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/FL820S
03 Expedition: LM Special Tec 5W30/FL820S
05 Envoy: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/51522XP

Top
#3430325 - 07/20/14 03:25 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Trav Offline


Registered: 11/20/06
Posts: 12242
Loc: MA, Mittelfranken.de
Try leaving the Master in the house and try it.
_________________________
ASE L1, Master. Deutsch Meisterbrief.

Top
#3430331 - 07/20/14 03:39 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 26925
Loc: ME
Maybe someone put in a remote starter and it has a bypass module you don't know about. Did you get it new?

Top
#3430345 - 07/20/14 03:56 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3697
Loc: Kuwait
Trav - same thing. shrug

I bought it off the original owner who never changed/added anything.

Based on what I've read, it appears I have a Pass-Lock system, which to my understanding is different than Pass-Key. To my understanding, there is no chip in the key - which explains why it cost $10 for a Genuine GM key vs. $30 for my Ford PATS key - the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.
_________________________
00 Pajero: M1 0W40/26300-35503
01 Marquis: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/FL820S
03 Expedition: LM Special Tec 5W30/FL820S
05 Envoy: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/51522XP

Top
#3430360 - 07/20/14 04:15 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 4746
Loc: Phoenix
Passlock just checks to make sure there is a key in the cylinder, passkey III has a transponder chip in the head of the key and requires programming. Is there any marking on the blade of the key such as PK3 or a circle with a + in the center?

Top
#3430370 - 07/20/14 04:26 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
Falcon_LS Offline


Registered: 10/03/08
Posts: 3697
Loc: Kuwait
No markings on the key.
_________________________
00 Pajero: M1 0W40/26300-35503
01 Marquis: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/FL820S
03 Expedition: LM Special Tec 5W30/FL820S
05 Envoy: M1 ESP Formula 5W30/51522XP

Top
#3430422 - 07/20/14 05:36 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
dishdude Offline


Registered: 11/14/08
Posts: 4746
Loc: Phoenix
No marking on the key means it is a Passlock system, no programming necessary.

Top
#3430606 - 07/20/14 08:34 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 1897
Loc: Central PA
Originally Posted By: Falcon_LS
the key is just used to make contact between the tip and the base of the ignition cylinder. The resistor is apparently located in the ignition cylinder itself. Maybe that explains why.


So what exactly is this system supposed to prevent? Hot wiring can still be done - just put any old key in there....

Top
#3430672 - 07/20/14 09:13 PM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
George7941 Offline


Registered: 05/10/05
Posts: 1589
Loc: Toronto, Canada
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.
_________________________
2006 GMC Sierra 4.3l, NV3500,G80 locker rear, Formula Shell Synthetic 5W30, Wix 51036, Dexcool.
1987 BMW R80

Staying out of the right lane a lot.

Top
#3430838 - 07/21/14 06:15 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: Falcon_LS]
eljefino Offline


Registered: 06/15/03
Posts: 26925
Loc: ME
^ yup that.

Deliberately confusing terminology on GMs part. But, they still get credit for putting passlock on the cheaper cars-- it still deters theft.

Top
#3430862 - 07/21/14 07:04 AM Re: GM Passkey III didn't require programing? [Re: George7941]
itguy08 Offline


Registered: 09/15/11
Posts: 1897
Loc: Central PA
Originally Posted By: George7941
Hot wiring will not work on Passkey systems since there are Hall effect sensors in the ignition lock cylinder and the BCM must see the pattern generated when the ignition key is turned normally, else the BCM does not enable fuel.


That makes better sense. Thanks.

Top