2001 golf reliability

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am thinking about a 2001 golf with only 40k on it at a dealership. Its a stripped down model with a manual trans.I have no experience with vws. I figure it has a timing belt. were these decent cars? Any input from any owners here would be appreciated.

At only 40K the timing belt/water pump is probably original, so I would have that changed ASAP (which can be a $1000+ job at a dealer) As far as reliability, I cant comment on the Golf but a friend at work has a 2003 Passat that he has sunk $8K in within the last year, and its mostly hit or miss from what I've heard

Actually that is a very nice car, the only problems they had were weak coil packs and power windows. I am assuming that when you say stripped it has manual windows cranks?

The coil issue was addressed by a recall so as long as the car appears to be running well there should be no problem. Ask the dealer to find out whether the original coil packs were replaced under the original recall by VW.

No reason whatsoever to have the water pump changed at only 40k they commonly go for over 100k.

Otherwise the MK4 Golf made in Germany, was a very nice car.

Last edited:
Originally Posted By: antiqueshell
\

No reason whatsoever to have the water pump changed at only 40k they commonly go for over 100k.

Otherwise the MK4 Golf made in Germany, was a very nice car.

When I said that they should be changed I was going by age, not miles.

Not worth the risk with a VAG water pump by trying to "save" a few quid.

Around that time VAG had issues with water pumo impellers sheering internally causing overheating.

At that time the Golf was fairly robust if a bit of a pudding compared to earlier variants.

Would make a decent enough car for long term use.

Usual siezing rear calipers will need attention. Especially in a low miler.