OIL - Why do you choose what you choose...

Posted by: wemay

OIL - Why do you choose what you choose... - 05/06/14 06:51 PM

What is the single most important factor in your oil purchase decision?
Posted by: tojo1968

Re: OIL - Why do you chose what you chose... - 05/06/14 06:54 PM

1. Reputation
2. Price

I have owned 3 100k+ and 2 200k+ mileage vehicles with no oil related problems using M1. Nuff said for me.
I know you said "single most" but there is no one deciding factor for me.
Posted by: Errtt

Re: OIL - Why do you chose what you chose... - 05/06/14 06:54 PM

^ yup and locally available
Posted by: AandPDan

Re: OIL - Why do you choose what you choose... - 05/06/14 06:56 PM

I'll say past experience right now.

My older vehicles use Mobil Super 5k, the newer, Mobil 1. I've been using Mobil products for over 30 years and never had an oil related failure.
Posted by: HTSS_TR

Re: OIL - Why do you choose what you choose... - 05/06/14 07:04 PM

Price.
I only bought name brands dino and syn when it was on sale with rebate(s). My 1994 LS400 with more than 380k miles had various oil brands in both dino and syn. As of now no engine problem what-so-ever. The MB E430 only had syn, S2000 had syn and dino.

After 20 years and 380k miles the LS400 body parts, interior and exterior, are falling apart, but engine and transmission are in good working condition.
Posted by: fdcg27

Re: OIL - Why do you choose what you choose... - 05/06/14 07:07 PM

FAR is always good.
I have many changes of FAR syns in my stash.
My only cost was sales tax and postage.
I also have some syns where I actually made a couple of pennies all in.
Good oils cheap are always a good choice and are the only valid reason to build a stash.
Posted by: Merkava_4

Re: OIL - Why do you choose what you choose... - 05/06/14 07:07 PM

1. Quietness
Posted by: jimbrewer

Re: OIL - Why do you choose what you choose... - 05/06/14 07:13 PM

Motorcraft for a Ford:

1. Reputation. Confirmed by UOAs