Advantages of straight weight oil

Status
Not open for further replies.

Now

New member first post. I've been working in the industrial field since 1980 and was greasing cars and trucks since age 13 using the old huge single cylinder lift.
I did do a search.

Topic should read disadvantages of multi weight oil. What qualities does the oil forfeit to become multi-weight?

I know about cold starting and flow capability of multi-weight. I always allow my engines to warm up, before raw-hiding them.

Any links welcome.

Since straight weight oil doesn't have Viscosity Improvers, it will not sheer as readily.

However, the advantage of having a lower viscosity at start-up outweighs this factor, which is why multi grade oils are recommended for all modern light-duty engines. Multi-grade also has the benefit of better detergent development; that is, Pennzoil and Mobil 1's detergents are not seen in any single grade oils.

Simply put, multi grade oil carries many performance improvements that makes it the superior oil.

if the multigrade oil has no,a small amount of , or high quality VII then then there is really no advantage to single grade motor oils in most applications.

Even the straight grades aren't really straight.
The basestock will have its own VI, so even a straight grade will be thinner at cold start than it's SAE viscosity grade might lead you to think.
In your climate, you could probably run a 20W-20 winters and a 30 in summers with no ill effects in most engines.
There was a member here some years ago who ran an Amsoil straight 30 syn in a modern car (It was the old FWD 300M IIRC) with good results and we have at least one other member who ran 30 grade Delo for some time because he got it really cheap on clearance. He had good results as well.
I've sometimes thought that a few runs of a straight grade in a beater followed with a UOA might be very entertaining.
Want to try it?