Lexus 2002 ES 300

Status
Not open for further replies.
Howdy Folks.......

I am REALLY glad that I joined this GREAT forum and the GREATEST web site.

I recently switched over from conventional 5W30 to Valvoline Full Synthetic after crossing 100000 miles mark (101206 to be exact)for my Lexus 2002 ES300.

After looking at the invoice from local NTB(National Tire & Battery. I have been doing all my oil changes here for past many years and I am happy with them). I noticed that they put in Valvoline 5W20 grade oil and used a rather cheap Pennzoil filter (I think it is PZ-21).

Here are the questions (Please note that there are no leaks and car drives fine - at least not yet.)

1) Is it advisable to use 5W30 and shall I switch to 5W30 or even better grade Valvoline Full synthetic (during next oil change) or stick with 5W20?

2) What filter do you recommend for this synthetic oil?

3) At what regular interval shall keep changing both oil and filter? I have heard many intervals - 7500 to 10000 miles to max. 1 year

Thanks a LOT.

Since you drive about 12k miles a year, if most trips are more than 10-15 miles then i would do oil change twice a year, one in Spring and one in Fall. You are in Texas, then you should use 5W30 in summer and 5W20 is okay for winter.

Welcome to the forum!

I am assuming you have the 1mz-fe V-6 in your Lexus; it is the same engine we have in our 2002 Avalon.

1. I would use a 5w-30 in this engine, not a 5w-20. These engines are hard on oil and the 30 weight is better suited-at least in my opinion.

2. In regard to the filter I would stick with a factory filter. Toyota/Lexus's filters are quite good; their anti drain back valve is constructed well from what I have read here on BITOG.