Motor Oil for a '02 Chevy Trailblazer - What kind?

Status
Not open for further replies.
What type of motor oil should I use to add to my '02 Chevy Trailblazer. I need to get it changed but I wanted to find out what is best for my vehicle prior to the oil change. I am new to Chevy's and I love mine but she has over 120, 000 miles and I am wanting to find preventative measures. I only need a recomendation on what oil is best and I will go with that. One more thing, would it be considered rude to bring your own oil to a shop instead of using theirs? I wonder if there would be a price change for that.. only curious.

thanks!!! :)
whistle.gif

Youv'e come to the right place to get opinions on oil.
What does GM recommend for the vehicle?
Do you have the exellent inline six, or the also good V-8.
FWIW, I would like either GC or RTS 5W-40 for any heavy vehicle application, and your Trailblazer certainly qualifies as heavy.
What kind of oil have you been using, and what kind of consumption have you been seeing?

Wow, that was quick! Thanks...
It is the 0inline 6 and I don't know what kind of oil, I have taken it to a couple different places and am simply not sure what kind has been used. Consumption.. well I am over the '3000' by about 1500 miles and i checked it just two days ago because I thought I smelled oil burning but the dip was at the low level so I know I need to add some till I get it changed. I would guess the normal consumption as I don't regularly add oil. Driving this is new to me, I have previously been a car person. I wanted to find out a brand that is best. so you feel the 5w-40 is the best type? Thank you sooo much!

Most places don't have a problem if you bring your own oil, and will usually give you a small discount or none at all. I took my Valvoline MaxLife to a quaker state oil change shop for my sister's lowered firebird and they took $5 off for bringing my own oil.

Check the UOA forum.