MTX75 Oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
No pros/cons to either.
Motul gear 300 is an excellent manual tranny fluid.
Since the price was right, I would definitely use the Motul.

I want to change my post. I thought the Motul is a motor oil. (I didn't mess with the non-linkie)

I have no experience with the Motul gear oil. But it's a dual rated GL-4 - GL-5, and since it's not for use in a LSD, it should be fine in a gear box.

I wanted to edit my first post to correct the bad link, but I haven't figured out how to do that. The ford honey is like $12/qt from what I can remember. Neither oil is a motor oil, as you know. Amsoil recommended a motor oil a while back (and as you state they still do). I think Amsoil has recommended 3 different oils since the focus was introduced. I appreciate the help. It seems that I will be doing a free tranny fluid swap, which is always awesome.

You said the oil is not for use with LSD...the guy I got the oil from is using it in an LSD equipped tranny, I assume with a friction modifier. With the friction modifier, it would work well with an LSD, correct? Thanks again.

I have zero idea why Amsoil doesn't recommend MTG for that Focus app....maybe they haven't tested it....maybe they think it needs a slightly thinner vis. I'll need to ask.

I suppose the Motul will work in an LSD with the correct FM.

It may help to know that the Ford Honey fluid specified by Ford for that transmission is very nearly motor oil and has very little or no additives that are normally associated with gear oils.

Evidently the biggest thing that Ford was after when they went to that Fluid was high resistance to sludge so it seems to have a high level of Group III base stock and a very high TBN.

Many blenders specify synthetic motor oil of the correct viscosity for use in this transmission.