ACEA ratings and other spec's - explaination ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I need a good reference or tutorial on ACEA spec's and what they mean & imply for oil composition. I'm also looking at spec'd oil lists for Porsche, BMW (LL),VW/Audi, and M.Benz (studying these spec's is another matter).

I have a list of the ACEA tests and limits but need some guidance.

I see ratings such as oil rated A3/B3, A3/B3/B4, and one rated A3/B4 (why no A4?) Some just rated as A1.

I'm studying this for a Porsche 911 with 180K miles so I'm looking at primarily 15-20W50 but also using 0-10W40 as a reference since it's most often on mfg recommended lists.

Oil recommendations are not needed as I'll evaluate.

Suggestions?

Quote:

I need a good reference or tutorial on ACEA spec's and what they mean & imply for oil composition. I'm also looking at spec'd oil lists for Porsche, BMW (LL),VW/Audi, and M.Benz (studying these spec's is another matter).

I have a list of the ACEA tests and limits but need some guidance.

I see ratings such as oil rated A3/B3, A3/B3/B4, and one rated A3/B4 (why no A4?) Some just rated as A1.

I'm studying this for a Porsche 911 with 180K miles so I'm looking at primarily 15-20W50 but also using 0-10W40 as a reference since it's most often on mfg recommended lists.

Oil recommendations are not needed as I'll evaluate.

Suggestions?

If this is an older Porsche (air-cooled) I would stay with a 20W-50. In my '89 Carrera 3.2 I use Valvoline VR1 20W-50 but I'm going to switch over to Brad Penn 20W-50 at the next OC.

There is some discussion that the latest oils such as M1 15W-50 don't have the ZDDP levels needed for the air-cooled Porsche engine.

Check out LNEngineering dot com for more insight.

David

I did not want to do all the research but below is a post that helped me tie in the ACEA and BMW LL (long life) spec.

I did some spell-check and don't know validity but it seems to consistent with other things I've studied.
==================