Can someone recommend oil + filter for my 1.8t??

Status
Not open for further replies.
So, I've been browsing BITOG for a couple of months now ever since I bought my latest Audi. It is a 1999 A4 1.8t Q with 102k. From what I understand, these engines are very tough on oil.

My current fill is M1 0w-40 with M1-301 filter. Oil consumption is Zero. The engine does seem loud though at highway speeds, but maybe this is normal for this engine?

Is this really a restrictive filter? Would Super Tech be a better choice? I live in vermont so temps range widely. Thanks for all your help.

From the Amsoil site:

1999 AUDI A4 QUATTRO 1.8L 4-cyl Engine Code ATW, -G, AMU Turbo

FILTERS
Oil Filter........ EAO37 Absolute Efficiency Oil Filter

LUBRICANTS & FLUIDS
Engine Oil
Grade 1......SEO[1]
Synthetic 5W-40 European Engine Oil
All Temps......0W-40, 5W-30, 5W-40
1. Add 2.0 L (2.1qt) if equipped W/ rear heating for all engine
502 00.

M1 0w-40 is fine. You need to run a bigger filter though. Either run the OEM Mann or the Purolator L40316 (Big Kahuna). This brings your sump capacity up from 3.7 qts to around 4.5 qts. What 1.8t do you have? (AEB, AUG, ATW, AWM)

Quote:

M1 0w-40 is fine. You need to run a bigger filter though. Either run the OEM Mann or the Purolator L40316 (Big Kahuna). This brings your sump capacity up from 3.7 qts to around 4.5 qts. What 1.8t do you have? (AEB, AUG, ATW, AWM)

+1 on OEM Mann. But I don't think it increases it to 4.5. I always get an overfill if I put 4.5 in. 4.2 is more like it - it puts the level right at the first bend on the dipstick. 4.0 quarts would put you at the top of the hash mark.

I thought that the M1 filter seemed pretty huge but i don't want to pay 10 bucks for it again, It was much bigger than the NAPA Gold that I had used right before it.

Can you get purolators at the chain auto stores? I was under the impression when I bought the car that the capacity was 3.7, but the manual says 4.2.