BG44K

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a can of BG44K someone kindly gave me. I have never used the product before.

I have two vehicles I am contemplating using it in (but will only use it in 1 of them).

I am wondering how much gasoline to mix the 11 ounce can with and whether I should use it just before a scheduled oil change.

I have a 1985 Mazda RX7 (13b, fuel injected) that I have owned for 10 years. I doubt that the vehicle has ever seen a fuel additive. It has 129k on the clock and runs well.

I have been told by someone on an RX7 site that using it before an oil change doesn't matter and to only use 1/4 tank of gas and run the tank down. Does this make sense?

The other vehicle in question is a 1995 Maxima (VQ 3.0 litre, fuel injected)with 68k, mostly highway miles, on the clock. I have owned this vehicle since new. The dealership added a fuel additive at about 35k and again at 53k (BG02). I ran Chevron Techron through it about 7,750 miles ago (20 months), just before dumping the oil from an AutoRX clean phase (first-time user) and taking the car through emissions testing. The Maxima runs like a champ and I question the need for using this product at this time.

Any advice would help.

Its a decent cleaner, esp for the [rice you paid for it. I personally would run it with a full tank. Its just solvents from what I can gather about it, nothing too fancy. Its just so stinkin expensive to purchase, considering there are better cleaners for 1/3 the price.

Assuming price isn't a consideration, what are the better cleaners.

Chevron Techron
LubeControl FP60
Gumout Regane
Redline SI-1

What is the hierarchy of these fuel additives?

Based on my own experience I would put Gummout Regane first (be sure to get the clear bottle version).

I would put Chevron Techron next. Techron tends to be more expensive and from personal experience I just do not find it as effective.