GC now made in USA

Status
Not open for further replies.
Just got 5 more Quarts of GC. They actually had two different styles of bottles but both had the same write up and made in Germany. After I pulled the 5th bottle off the rack the next bottle in line looked totally different. Closer inspection revealed Made in USA. Yes it was 0w-30. It had a completely diferent write up on the label. I now says "energy conserving" in the donut, but lost some of it's credentials such as BMW LL-01 and others. I am kinda new to this GC forum so if this is already known---sorry.

Todd:

Please review the pinned threads on this stuff. There's a lot of old pre-GC out there still collecting dust on the shelves. The way to tell for sure is to check the batch number on the bottom of the bottle. The first version of GC, the stuff with the green hue as it comes out of the bottle, was made from late 2002 through very early 2005. Since then, it's still been "GC" but it lost the greenish color (hence the name "Gold GC" you see around here). The pre-GC should have the grade, 0w-30 on the front outlined in yellow. The German stuff will have it outlined in red. There were reports of a small amount of the last American made stuff coming with the red outlined grade spec, but I've never seen any myself. The litmus test is the batch code stamped on the bottom. Please check that bottle and post it back here. From that, we can tell what you've got. Thanks.
cheers.gif

perhaps the massive buyup we are all doing in respose to a discontinuation will make them think its selling like hotcakes and bring it back with a vengence!!