Pay $192 tow bill myself or have State Farm pay?

Status
Not open for further replies.
19 year old step-son used a tree, rather than brakes, to stop my 94 Jeep Cherokee Sport. Excellent condition (garaged and TLC), low mileage.

Only liability with $2.50 towing.
If State Farm pays, will my rates go up?
Should I NOT send them tow bill?

If the kid can trash the jeep, he can pay the towing.
Sounds like a valuable life lesson for him.
twocents.gif

Yes. Inexcusable. NOT an accident.
When he gets a job, he will start paying for the Jeep. I'm still trying to determine what it WAS worth.

It was going to be his first vehicle. (He and mother arrived from China in 2005.) I'm a former AAA driving instructor and taught them to drive. I have everyone, especially elderly, repeatedly practice quickly taking foot from accelerator and applying brake.

I bought him new shoes because he is going to be walking and riding the bus from now on.
No, I forbid his mother driving him anywhere in her car, nor will he drive it.
If he wants a car, he can buy his own piece of junk and insure it himself.

I agree with you robert.

I would never put an underage kid on my insurance plan.

My folks made me get my own insurance plan, it made me more responsible, just for the sake of saving money on the premium.

I took it one step further and bucked the trend, and bought geico insurance, and saved myself even more money. I've been with them for 5 years now, and the rates are going down every year as planned.

I'm 24 now, and I'm looking at getting rid of my hot rod, and my suv, and buying a econobox scion. Go figure.

One day the kid will grow up, its just a matter of time (you can hope).

As for the tow bill, I suggest that you purchase a AAA motor club card for 45 dollars per year.

Good piece of mind, and free tows. This way you aren't at the mercy of some tow operator.