03 TDI oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
Who... take it easy on a noob here.

My good buddy has an 05 TDI and I'm doing his oil changes with the dealer TXT. He has less options than I do.
smile.gif

My manual 03 Jetta TDI, has been using the dealer Castrol 5w40 since I got it. However, I see Rotella T seems like a wise choice for my non-PD diesel.

However, I see this oil for a conventional price, vs. my Castrol as a synthetic price. I don't get it?

I know some Syntec's aren't synthetic, but are priced that way. Is this the case?

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Sorry for brining up a topic, that probably has been answered 11ty billion times.
smile.gif

Cam
ooo.gif

I'll let one of the diesel guys answer your question, I just wanted to say
welcome.gif

It's about time you joined the forum Cam!

Help this guy out folks, he's a good buddy of mine!
cheers.gif

Welcome aboard!
For pre-PD cars, Rotella synthetic has proven to be a good choice. Many of us also use Mobil Delvac 1 or Amsoil.
It is the opinion of many (myself included) that the Castrol Syntec 5w40 isn't the best choice for a TDI. You are fortunate in that you also have other good oil options in Canada such as Esso XD-3 and PC Duron.

canada.gif

I use the Motul 505.01 in my PD TDI. Elf and others also make a VW approved 505.01 so you don't have to be stuck with the Castrol TXT, which I don't trust.

Rottela T Sythetic 5w-40 is considered to be a very good oil for auto diesels so is the Mobil Delvac. I still have Mobil 1 5w-40 Truck and SUV oil for my Dodge Cummins and like it.

Quote:

Hey Pat.
smile.gif

I was wondering how long it would take you to see my username.
smile.gif

Say hi to the family for me.

The moment you registered on the board I knew it was you by the email address.
smile.gif

I'll make sure to tell Alex that "Ham" says hello!
laugh.gif

I used both Rotella 5W-40 (the Grp III, not the Grp I/II 15W-40) and Schaeffer's S-7000 15W-40 in my '03 TDI.