M1 5W-40 ESP Formula M question...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie here, I've searched the archives and haven't found anything about this oil.

I have a MY99 E300, I'd like to use a MB spec 229.5 oil. I've been using M1 0W-40 cause it was suitable for all our cars, now I'm thinking of using this new 229.51 spec oil.

My basic question is, what would be better. 5W-40 ESP Formula M, or take the time to go find Devlac 5W-40, which I haven't any in my local area (19610 zip code). I'll admit I haven't looked too hard for Devlac. I can get any mobil oil (that the MB dealer sells) for 5.95 a quart.

Over at tdiclub, someone asked about the 5w40 ESP the other day. I looked at the specs, and it seems designed for protecting emissions systems more sophisticated than what's in your 1999 E300. I'm not sure it's actually better at engine protection -- it could be, but that's an unknown.

If you want to try the ESP, why not get three oil analysis kits? Test your current (used) oil, the virgin ESP, then the used ESP after a normal OCI. Post the results and provide a service for other BITOG members.

Quote:

Mobil 1 Turbo Diesel Truck and Delvac 1 are identical. You should be able to find TDT at WalMart.

You have to keep looking and be careful, look first for 5w-40 then for CJ-4, Mobil 1 is now merely a "brand" put on almost anything. BTW, been looking, have not seen TDT at any of my Wallyworlds.