Dot on new tire - heaviest or lightest point?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jje

On some new tires Ive gone to put on a rim, there's a dot near the bead, does that indicate the heaviest or lightest part of the tire?

Should it go opposite or lined up with the valve? (Im not a pro, but I can use the machine)

canada.gif

It indicates the lightest part of the tire and should be lined up with the heaviest part of the rim which is usually the valve stem.

jje,

A couple of thoughts:

First, there is NOT universal agreement about the dots. They could be uniformity dots (a form of "out of round"), balance dots (which is what your question alludes to) or something else.

Second, the valve is usually the line up point for "out of round", not balance. The point of matching up the dots is to line up the high point (the most "out of round" point on the high end) of the tire, with the low point of the rim. The net result ought to be a "rounder" assembly. Please note that this valve isn't always the "low point" (it's somewhere else) and sometimes the rims aren't indexed at all.

But it does no harm in matching up the dots and sometimes is beneficial.

From what I recall from when "the dots" first appeared in the middle 1980s, it was about matching the low spot on the wheel (where the valve stem hole was punched) to the high spot of the tire (where the dot was placed). Matching "high" and "low" was supposed to, as mentioned, result in a tire/wheel assembly that "was rounder" for a smoooother ride. At that time, it was a "big deal" and every tire mounter knew about it, but that was "generations" ago, so not every tire mounter in more recent times could not know what it was all about.