Who's tried Autolite Iridium Spark plugs?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yes, I just installed them in my '02 Suburban at 80,000 miles. I also installed new plug wires at the same time. Between the new plugs and new wires, the engine runs much much smoother.

Wayne

I have been using them since April in my 1995 Mercury Grand Marquis. I didn't tell any major differences in my engine performance, as my car was not in a serious need of a tune-up, but I wanted to learn how to do it myself.

I wonder how they would do in a Honda. There's a lot of bad rap about Autolite plugs. How different could Autolite Iridiums be from NGK's or Denso's?

They're worthless. The plugs are only Iridium enhanced. In addition, there is no platinum pad on the ground electrode. The DIS require the platinum pad on the ground electrode or else the plugs will last no longer than the conventional counterparts.

Get the correct NGK or Denso plugs from sparkplugs.com or RockAuto. Together, the cost difference is probably $20.

Critically Correct..
cheers.gif

I went to get a set of plugs for my R.S. Hyundai, they have a ridiculous array of plugs for it. two prong, four prong, Platinum, Irridium, Copper this, wonderful that..

16.00 for a couple of those plugs. EACH...

Hmmmm, so I rang up the dealer. He says Champions come with it, replace em with NGK V-Power. Said the Champ plugs it came with suck, wouldn't hurt to get em out early. Claims when peeps come for the 30K the Champions are a mess, all eroded and cruddy. He thinks they use a lousy heat range for them.

$1.19 each then some discount, got out the door for $3.67..
Nice silvery plug, Resister. Even got the guy to let me gap em to OEM spec with his nice wire gapper tool (never bothered getting one lately, always lost em). Sometimes, I like Advanced. Can't argue the price of the plugs!