My own 2 cents on the Golden GC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Well, after what I thought was a stupid thing, I dumped out the green GC and filled up with the new Golden GC. I am no scientist, but your average car guy. I noticed only one major difference between the two. My car would make this humming noise after I turned it off while running the green GC. I was told this this was a secondary coolant pump in my 1.8T GLI circulating the coolant. Well, after the switch, the car does not make that sound. It still runs whisper quiet and very smooth. I am wondering why they changed from green to gold?

GF-4 is why they changed. If the base oil is the same, people can probably relax.

That's weird.Maybe the secondary water pump is on the way out(common VW problem)?

quote:

Originally posted by brianpavlovic:
Well, after what I thought was a stupid thing, I dumped out the green GC and filled up with the new Golden GC. I am no scientist, but your average car guy. I noticed only one major difference between the two. My car would make this humming noise after I turned it off while running the green GC. I was told this this was a secondary coolant pump in my 1.8T GLI circulating the coolant. Well, after the switch, the car does not make that sound. It still runs whisper quiet and very smooth. I am wondering why they changed from green to gold?

Unless they changed something 1.8t don't have a secondary water pump only VR6's do as well as an auxillary radiator where the intercooler is hidden in the wheel well. What year?

quote:

Originally posted by Thermo1223:
Unless they changed something 1.8t don't have a secondary water pump only VR6's do as well as an auxillary radiator where the intercooler is hidden in the wheel well. What year?

Brian has a 2005 Jetta GLI 1.8T based on info he gave in another thread.