Tire Pressure Gauges...

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been using a digital gauge called the NEOTECH 500 for about 25 years now. I don't think they make it anymore as I can't find any information on it anywhere. It uses two button cell batteries available everywhere for about 2 bucks apiece. This thing reads to the nearest 0.2 psi.

"Hey, my right front reads 32.4 and my left front reads 32.6, better get some more air into that right tire."

This is the perfect gauge for those of us who worry about the difference between 11.8 cSt@100C and 12.1 cSt@100C
grin.gif

I keep the dial gauges in the tool box and the pencil type in the cars. The dial guages seem more consistent with higher presssures, as I sometimes use up to 70 psi on the truck.

quote:

Originally posted by Jelly:
What about the issue of dial-type gauges becoming inaccurate if dropped?

I had an expensive dial type with the rubber sleeve around the gauge, bleed off valve etc. It had never been dropped but yet the calibration was off by about 5psi in just a few years.

You couldn't give me a mechanical tire gauge at this point. I've worked around modern instrumentation too long. I'd put the accuracy of the $10 electronic gauges I have ( 4 of them ) against any mechanical tire gauge no matter the cost. IMO, things with a bunch of little gears and levers just can't compete with something that's solid state and trimmed on the line...

[ February 07, 2005, 04:26 PM: Message edited by: jsharp ]

quote:

Originally posted by jsharp:
..IMO, things with a bunch of little gears and levers just can't compete with something that's solid state and trimmed on the line...

I remember the in-vogue thing two decades back or so of going digital on auto dash tach/speedo gauges and such(so '80s..)from years of analog readouts...even the average wrist watch then was going digital. It was the in thing after all...

Well, two decades later(at the dawn of the 21st)guess where we are now...