Fuel
TBN 8.2

SAE
Soot 1.5

What says the jury?

Andy

Yikes!-Holy Piston Rings (Cr) Batman
shocked.gif
. Yet the Pb is excellent. The silicon is higher but not to the extent I would think to produce the Iron/Cr readings. Do you have a piston slap?? BTW-I'm not an expert in this area.

I'm interested in this report because I'm planning on using this oil next in My Toy Gasoline Truck. Thanks

Yeah, the FE and Chrome bothered me a bit as well. This fill started in Srn Illinois in January, and ran thru the move to San Antonio and the South Texas summer.

The current fill is AMSOIL 15W-40 Diesel/marine, which has 5600 miles in it. I'm looking forward to comparing the numbers.

I was the second owner, it had a good history until 70K when I bought it. It runs strong, mileage is 40-42. Others with same model are getting higher mileage, tho.

The next fill will be Amsoil 5W-30, and I'm very close to swapping the Oilguard for an Amsoil bypass.

Thanks for the look!
Andy

[ December 09, 2002, 09:29 PM: Message edited by: Andy H ]

quote:

Originally posted by Toy4x4:
Andy H,
offtopic.gif
Why are you switching out the Oilguard? Any problems/concerns?

An Amsoil Dealer running a competive product doesn't fare well with big Al.
rolleyes.gif

59 Vetteman,

I'm pretty sure Al not only doesn't know who I am, but would sleep pretty well at night even if I filtered with a box of kleenex.
smile.gif
(Or...I'm in the military for the right to use anyone's bypass I choose?)

No problems with the Oilguard at all. The 96 TDI is a soot monster compared to the newer VWs and the AMSOIL filter has proven to do a better job with soot, as well as giving me the option of a larger filter for more dilution.

I've been waiting for the results of a bypass showdown on Fred's TDI club, but life has gotten in the way of good science again.

Andy

Jay,

I think it's Oilmaster's way of saying 'viscosity change'. I could easily be wrong, tho.

quote:

Originally posted by Andy H: