Using shop lathe to turn rotors

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kestas

Staff member
We have a lathe available to us where we work. We've been toying with the idea of using it to turn rotors ourselves. This idea comes from a quest of not only saving money, but making sure our rotors have no more metal taken off than is necessary.

Naturally, I'm concerned with keeping the rotor prependicular to the mounted surface. Has anybody done this successfully themselves? Should we shop for a scrap half-shaft from a solid rear axle to use as a fixture?

I believe a special lathe is used so that both sides can be machined at once. I would not try it on your own. What does it cost to turn them, $12?

-T

I worked in a shop that had a couple of lathes as well a few years ago and toyed with the same idea but was told wht T-Keith mentioned that both sides should be turned at the same time. However, no one has ever explained why. I can see that you want to keep both sides the same thickness, but what if you have had a issue with abnormal wear? One side is worn more than the other due to a brake problem. You correct that, take your rotors in to have them turned. Arent they just going to turn them until both sides are smooth and straight? Of course there is a limit to how much they can be turned, I think minimum thichnesses are stamped on the rotors.

In that case I could see any benefit to turning them at the same time. With a good quality micrometer you could keep the thicknesses on both sides within a couple thousands and I cant see that little making much of a difference. Admittedly though, Iam no expert on this just reasoning things out.

Anyone have any input.