bench bleeding M/C-absolutely necessary?

Status
Not open for further replies.
do you absolutely have to bench bleed a new brake master cylinder? I have a vacuum brake bleeder that makes the job a breeze, can I just slap the new m/c on without bleeding it and let the vacuum bleeder do it's job?

the car is a 92 legend with ABS, BTW.

What do the instructions that come with the parts say? Follow those. I am no brake expert but have listened to advice from some. They have always told me bench bleed the MC or you will just make more work for yourself. If you don't you will be chasing air pockets for hours if not days and weeks.

I've heard stories where people changed the master cylinder, bled the heck out of the four corners, and still had a soft pedal. I believe bench bleeding is a must to get air out of certain areas of the master cylinder before doing the regular bleeding to finish the job.

Yes, You should always bench fleed. If it is already mounted on the car you can still do a "bench bleed". You would end up setting it up just like you would if you had it in a vice. You would use the pedal in plave of a long screw driver and follow the rest of the direction exactly.

If you are trying to be lazy do not take short cuts. If you do not have a vice then the alternative of mounting it to the firewall and "bench bleeding on car with the supplied hardware will also work. It is harder to control the travel and speed though so be mindful.

ok, I got problems.

I followed the instructions with the rebuilt master cylinder, bench bled it, bled the whole car, twice, and I have a pedal that goes very low to the floor. I have brakes, but, the pedal is too low.

what is going on?

If the pedal stops over a fairly short distance, but just too low, you may want look at excess mechanical movement. The pushrod may need adjusted. The rear brakes could need adjustment. I have never had good luck keeping self adjusters working.