Multigrade / Straight Weight for Detroit Diesel

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi,
I have had extensive experience with in-line and Vee two stroke (2cycle) Detroits since the 1960s

You MUST ONLY use a straight grade (viscosity) low ash (1% max.)engine oil and one specifically approved for such use (TBN 8 to 10)- to API's quality spec. CD-2 but preferably CF-2. (To enable easier starting, a multigrade low ash HDEO 15w-40 or SAE30 can be used in temps from minus 32C to minus 18C)

Search on here and in the heavy vehicle area for more data

The Amsoil product mentioned in an earlier post here is unsuitable for these engines

Castrol makes an excellent range of most suitable CF-2 oils for these engines - called Castrol CRB, it is availabe in SAE30, SAE40 (most popular and recommended) and SAE50 grades

Oil sampling may work but due to the high oil consumption with these engines you are much better to use the Detroit Diesel recommended OCIs as follows;

For oils with TBN above 10+,
Highway - 10k miles
City - 8k miles
Stationary/Agricultural units - 150 hours

Regards
Doug

What is wrong with the amsoil? Maybe too thin is all I see.

APPLICATIONS
Where these viscosity grades are specified, AMSOIL Synthetic 10W-30/SAE 30 Diesel Oil (ACD) provides outstanding performance as a straight-grade SAE 30 for older two- and four-stroke diesels and as a multi-grade SAE 10W-30 in modern four-stroke diesels as well as gasoline engines. AMSOIL ACD is ideal for use in a wide variety of light and heavy-duty applications, including agriculture, off-road construction, trucking, mining, industrial (pumps and generators) and personal automotive or commercial transportation. It is recommended for use with low or high sulfur diesel fuels in standard, turbocharged or supercharged engines, including modern low emission diesels such as those equipped with EGR systems.

PERFORMANCE