4R70W / Mercon V / Dextron III

Status
Not open for further replies.
Howdy, Folks. This is only my second post on this forum but I have been enjoying reading it for several months and have reaped some very helpful information herein. Maybe, someone here can enlighten me on my most recent dilemma.

I have a 2000 F150 Supercab with the 4R70W transmission. The owner's manual and the dip stick unquestionably say that Mercon V is the transmission fluid that this transmission uses. I had my transmission/torque converter fluid and filter changed about 4000 miles back. The truck had 25000 miles at the time. At 3000 miles after this service, a stutter developed as shifting occurred from 2nd to 3rd and again when shifting from 3rd to OD. This was with light throttle and with RPMs low with load increasing.

I discovered today that the shop that changed the fluids used Dextron III instead of Mercon V. I believe that they believe that the two are interchangeable. I am not sure that they are. I have researched this and other forums and have not yet discovered this exact comparison. I simply need to know if Dextron III is a suitable substitute for Mercon V.

Thank you all for your help.

George

Most ATFs are combination Dexron III & Mercon, not Mercon V.

If the shop won't do a free complete change to Mercon V for you, try a bottle of Lubegard green bottle supplement. Lubegard claims it converts Dexron III/Mercon to Mercon V. It's worth the price to see if it works.

Those folks at the shop you went to are idiots...or don't have the backbone to admit that they made a dumb mistake.

Ken