Snowblower purchase

Status
Not open for further replies.
Guys - I'm looking to buy a good 4cycle snowblower that will start everytime and last twenty years with good care.
Please give me your recommendations.
Performance first, cost second.
You know more than the sales people I talk with.
Thanks

I have had a TORO for the past 21 years. It has never failed to start after setting all summer. Blows snow like crazy. If I were going to replace it, I would probably buy another one.

I have heard the Honda snowblowers are very good but I have no experience with them.

Ariens also make a very good snowblower. It uses the same engine that the TORO does. Just a different color. My neighbor has one of these that is 35 years old.

If cost is not an issue, IMHO, stay away from things like MTD, Sears, etc. Get a name brand.

I agree with Johnny - stay away from MTD, Sears. I don't know much about Ariens. Plan to spend at least $1,000 for a good one.

MTD owns many brands that used to be independently owned, and they do make different grades for certain "name plates." Do some investigating if you really want to stay away from an MTD manufactured blower, i.e. MTD makes Cub Cadet, Troy Bilt, etc.

The top two that will probably get you to 20yrs is simplicity or honda. They are the most expensive. Third and fourth would be toro and ariens. Keep in mind, all but honda use the same engines. Either tecumseh or briggs & stratton. There is absolutely nothing wrong with all the MTD variations and sears units (some of which were MTD, some murray design, murray is no longer). You can easily get 10yrs+ normal service out of them at half the cost of honda or simplicity.
G/luck
Joel

I'm a Toro owner, and I love my 726te 2-stage two-stroke. I've had it 2 years so far and it's been great so far. Unless you are dead-set against a 2-cycle you should check it out. I never worry about forgetting to check the oil (if you buy a 4-stroke Tecumseh...make sure you NEVER forget).
GrtArtiste