Amsoil 2 stroke Inteceptor oil...a good choice or not for Echo or Stilhl saw?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a Echo chain saw a Echo weed wacker and Stihl chain saw. Have been using Valvoline two stroke high performance motorcyle oil at 50:1 ratio with Sunoco 94 ultra gasoline. I have been using this combo for the past three years with no problems. I have been on the Amsoil website and seen their two stroke Interceptor oil. I was wondering if this would be a good upgrade in oil quality or the Mobil 1 MX2T two stroke motorcycle oil. Thanks.

Go with the Echo synthetic blend 2-cycle oil. I have a piece of junk Ryobie weed wacker that is thirteen years old and the only 2-cycle oil that's been in it is the Echo. It will start in 1 or 2 pulls even after it sits all winter. This product is available at all Home Depot stores for a dollar forty-nine bottle which makes 2 and a half gallons. It also contains a fuel stabilizer so you have no problems with winter storage. You don't need 94 octane with this 2-cycle mix, 87 will work fine. Don't be fooled by expencive full synthetic 2-cycle oil, you don't need to spend that kind of money for those products that will not give you an increase in performance over the Echo 2-cycle oil.

The Echo and Stihl owners manuals both say to " use at least a minimum of 89 octane". In the Stihl manual it says "if the mid grade in your area is below 89 octane use premium fuel". So I figured I will just run premium all the time.

Per the AMSOIL recommendations, first choice would be Saber Professional 100:1 Premix.
Dominator is Very Good, Interceptor is Good.

I have seen, but do not have a copy of, a report put out the the University of Pennsylvania recommending the use of premium gas in two cycle equipment.

quote:

Originally posted by fatrat540: