Havoline 5w-20 w/Particle Count

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is a Virgin Oil Analysis of the new Havoline 5w-20 SM/GF-4.

Though in the "body of the text" it said meets the specs of SM/GF-4, on the actual seal, it said SL. Thats probably where Mark got the idea of the SL rating.

The picture that I have below is not from the same bottle, btw.
 -

-

Special thanks to Mark for adding this sample to the BITOG VOA Library!

Michael

[ April 04, 2005, 08:17 PM: Message edited by: Michael Wan ]

Holy Moly, Batman!
shocked.gif
Too bad we didn't study motor oil in high school chemistry. It would have made learning the periodic table much easier and more fun.

Holy Moly, Batman! Too bad we didn't study motor oil in high school chemistry. It would have made learning the periodic table much easier and more fun.

I am no engineer but...

Perhaps this is the key to the 5W20/0W20 debate.

The high concentration of the moly in this sample may mean that with great anti-wear additive suite 20W viscosity may not be as hideous as some feel it is.

400 ppm
smile.gif

quote:

Originally posted by outrun:
I am no engineer but...

Perhaps this is the key to the 5W20/0W20 debate.

The high concentration of the moly in this sample may mean that with great anti-wear additive suite 20W viscosity may not be as hideous as some feel it is.

JMHO, I'd rather have the oild keeping the equipment apart, and the additive there as a back-up...rather than relying on the safety net as part of the strategy.

As I said, only my opinion.

Does this mean that Havoline 5w-20 has even more moly than Exxon Superflo? If it does then that's what I'm going to use for my next oil change instead of Mobil 1 or Superflo. Inexpensive good quality oil + 5k oci's= long lasting engine and a lot of money saved.
smile.gif

quote:

Originally posted by Al:
Thanks for this information.

Sure folks.