Good 2 stroke oil for dirtbike?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I picked up a used 2 stroke dirt bike this week, a CR500. My first 2 stroke bike in 7 years. So what's the latest and greatest 2 stroke oil for dirtbikes? 7 years ago I used whatever the stores sold. Now that I'm an amateur BITOGer "whatever" won't cut it anymore. I tried searching around and found many topics relating to saws and outboards so I was hoping for something specific to a water cooled dirtbike.

Thanks in advance.

I think Mobil 1 Racing 2T is the best especially for the price.

I've used Klotz R50 also, but its expensive.

Back before I used Maxima Super M, but the ATV shop didn't recomend it, when they rebuilt my engine.

i have used a lot of Yamalube 2R with great results. i think Torco makes/made it at the time. i have never seen a bad motor from Mobil 1 MX2T as well.

04SpecV, I am curious as to why your ATV shop didn't recommend the Maxima product. My local bike shop says that it is one of the best, along with Bel-Ray lubricants. They also carry Klotz products, but I didn't inquire about them.

They also however, do not recommend Silkolene products as they stated they have had more problems with running that lubricant than its worth. I personally use the Maxima line, and the only drawback that I've encountered so far is the high price of admission, but my engines are worth it.
grin.gif

Sounds like the Mobil 1 product is it.

I found the description for Silkolene Pro 2 SX at CycleGear.com to be strange.

. Utilizes aerospace technology to give the ultimate in lubrication and engine protection and maintain film strength at high temperatures and stresses during off-road motorcycle racing.
. Combats throttle slide sticking in wet conditions.
*Not designed for premix use.

see it here http://cyclegear.com/spgm.cfm?L1=52&L2=188&L3=&L4=&item=TUC_43-0221_G

Not for premix then what good is it for a dirtbike? And it says off road on the bottle and has an image of an MX bike.