Polaris atp oil question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello, I'm a new guy to this awesome site. Can you help? We have a 2004 Polaris ATP 330. They recommend their 0w-40 weight oil only. We will only be riding this in the summer months which have a temperature range of say, 45 to 100 degrees plus. I just did it's first oil change (15 hours) and used Redline 10w40. My reasoning is, I don't need protection to -40, so I feel this would be OK. Does this sit well with you guys or am I overlooking something? Also, I replaced the OEM Polaris filter with a WIX. The OEM has a thimble looking thingee down in the bottom of it and the WIX has the spring towards the top (open) end of it. Is this a problem, I'm kinda weird about this stuff. Always use the Fleetguard Statopore on my Cummins (perfect analysis at 294,000)with Delo 400 15-40. I want the best for the little beast also. Any thoughts will be appreciated, good or bad. I have never used synthetic motor oil before, only the gear stuff, which really impressed me. Thank you, Jim

You can do what you want, but the Polaris oil and filters are of high quality and I would use them while still under warranty.

I agree with Brett. I have used both Polaris and Amsoil 0W40 with a Polaris filter. I know a lot of people use the Wix or Napa filters on them, but know the Polaris one is made for the machine and they are only a couple bucks more. Most people only change the oil once a year anyway. I was told that once that the Polaris filters are made for these engines because they have run a very low oil pressure. I don't know if this is true or not. I don't believe everything I hear.

[ April 26, 2004, 04:40 PM: Message edited by: tmorris1 ]