M1 5w-40 in a motorcycle?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm a newbie, although I have been reading this forum for a little over a year, so please bear this in mind (be gentle)...

I have a 2003 Suzuki SV1000S (motorcycle, but using a car oil so unsure of proper location)
1 liter, V-twin, water cooled, shared sump with tranny, and wet clutch.
OE recomends 10W-40
Currently using Rotella T synth 5W-40, but worried about shear stability since its not a true synth. Doing 2000 mi intervals, but would like to go out to 4000 (I know I should use a UOA)

I know from reading all the wonderful posts on hear that a conventional 10W-40 would die (shear) rather quickly in a shared sump application.

I also know that todays energy conserving motor oils can cause problems with a wet clutch due to friction modifiers.

I want an oil I can get easily when I grab my car oil at the local X-mart (rotella T synth in car)

What I am getting to is...since M1 5-40 is rated for diesel engines, I recall that one of the diesel specs is for use with wet clutches. If someone could confirm that spec is on the label, and is not energy conserving, I think I will have found the perfect oil to use in my bike!!! What do you all think?

welcome aboard!

I'm going to move this to the motorcycle section though, where it'll get more attention.

I haven't used 5w40 in a motorcycle before.

I've been using Mobil1 15w50 for about 3 years now. Never had a problem.

The one time I did try a 5w oil (5w30 Mobil1 on accident) I ruined that oil and had very hard shifting after about 200 miles. That's what happens when you're not paying attention at walmart. =)

I know about using M1 15-50, but I ride year around down to 32F or so. I have 5W-40 in there right now in the Rotella synth version with no shifting problems, etc...but want a full synth.

How did you ruin a 5w-30?

How did I ruin the 5w30? Dunno. I'd have to say all that 12k rpm riding.