What is the favorite 2 cycle motorcycle oil

Status
Not open for further replies.
Bob and Ben, It is fairly difficult to find valid 2 stroke oil tests on the net. I found one that used air cooled ultralight aircraft engines. Too bad they did not test modern motorcycle oils in those engines.

My reason for starting this thread was to get real life experiences from motorcycle users. I know the wear evidence is anecdotal, however with enough user experience data; a fairly good conclusion can be drawn.

I do know that castor based oils perform very well in 2 strokes, especially race 2 strokes. However Ben is correct, Castor based oils have little corrosion protection and additive packages may or may not be designed to improve that quality of castor oils.

Today, modern synthetic 2 stroke dirt bike oils are designed to perform as well as the old castor based oils without the problems of castor. I have plenty of experience with castor based oils and I stay away from them with good reason. In addition, modern castor oils with additives or blends are better, but still have the castor related problems to some extent. You would be kidding yourself to say otherwise.

As I mentioned before, I have had best results with MX2t. Spectro also makes a product that works well, however the price is about double. With the number of engines I operate and the amount of oil I use, cost and availability is a big factor.

I use Avgas in my Husky 360 due to price, availability, actual detonation resistance and the lead content, which may extend crankshaft life. BTW, aviation engines are very corrosion prone (I operate 10 aviation engines), maybe avgas is partly to blame.

Unfortunately, without scientific testing to back up 2 stroke oil claims, we are all stuck trying to determine what works best. Sometimes for 30 years!

Chris